Tuesday 8 May 2012

10.30–1.30pm Open rehearsals
1.30–2.30pm Lunch
2.30–5.30pm Open rehearsals

Wednesday 9 May 2012

10.30–1.30pm Open rehearsals/collaborative session
1.30–2.30pm Lunch
2.30–5.30pm Open Rehearsals/collaborative sessios
6pm Set up for concert
7pm Concert with an introduction to Soundings by the curator Mary Dullea and discussion with the composers

Thursday 10 May 2012

10.30–1.30pm Open rehearsals with composers
1.30–2.30pm Lunch
2.30–4.30pm Open Rehearsals
4.30pm Set up for panel discussion
5–6pm Panel discussion
6pm Set up for concert

Concert with presentations of the work of Soundings 2012

Friday 11 May 2012

11am Open Open plenum brunch with musicians and composers


Concert Programme

Wednesday 9 May 2012, 7 pm

Gavin Higgins: Three Broken Love Songs
14 min, for piano and clarinet Composed in 2006, commissioned by Mark Simpson, winner of the 2006 BBC Young Musician of the Year competition

Johannes Berauer: Des Kaisers neue Kleider
8 min, for flute solo After a theme by Joseph Haydn Composed in 2008, dedicated to Helmut Trawöger

Johannes Berauer: Piano Trio No. 1 Movement I
4 min, for piano, violin and cello

Luke Styles: Slogan 3
10 min, for piano, violin and clarinet

Thomas Wally: 4 Bagatellen
10 min, for two violins, viola and cello

Manuela Kerer: Air des souffleuses
5 min, for flute and clarinet
Dedicated to Theresia Schmidinger & Doris Nicoletti

Manuela Kerer: Rei(hihi)
4 min, for 3 smiling musicians

Charlotte Bray: Replay
10 min, for piano, violin, viola and cello
Composed in 2011, commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society for the 2011 Cheltenham Music Festival, with prize money from the Susan Bradshaw Composers’ Fund


Thursday 10 May 2012, 7 pm2

Charlotte Bray: Midnight closes
Three Thomas Hardy settings
7 min, for piano and soprano Composed in 2010, commissioned by the Countess of Munster Musical Trust for the Monday Night Platform 2010

Johannes Berauer: Prelude
7 min, for piano and saxophone

Manuela Kerer: eMotionale Entäußerung [eMotional relinquishing]
9 min, for a moving violinist and tape Composed in 2010, dedicated to Helmut Hable

Gavin Higgins: Drop Dead
7 min, for solo saxophone

Thomas Wally: Music for violin and piano
11 min, for piano and violin Composed in 2009, dedicated to Martin

Luke Styles: Lieder aus dem Frühlingszyklus [Spring Song Cycle]
8 min, for piano, horn and soprano